Haiku Review: World to Come by Dara Horn

Guy steals pricy art;
Book within book within book;
Jewish themes prevail.

I liked it better than In the Image — I think the historical fiction element of Marc Chagall’s life, as well as all of the tales of the lost Yiddish writers who went missing in the 1940’s and 50’s, fascinated me more than the tale of the child prodigy and his twin sister trying to right his wrong.

2 responses to “Haiku Review: World to Come by Dara Horn

  1. I don’t remember much about it but I remember enjoying it and what has always stuck is the clever explanation for that little bit under our noses (whatchamacallit?)

    • Yes, that is a more popular Jewish fable, and the only one I had heard of. It was pretty interesting to me how many of the Jewish fables written around that time had been lost or buried. My grandpa used to tell me stories when I was a kid, but he never told me any Jewish fables. I wish he would have…

Pipe Up

