Rock Me Amadeus

Motherhood changes a person in lots of enormous ways, but it’s the little ways that kind of bug me.

This morning, I hopped in the shower with the intention of belting out some choice 80’s music, like I used to do, back in 90’s when it the 80’s were starting to become really cool.

I tried Straight Up, Janie’s Got a Gun, Mickey, and Take It on the Run. (Spatulacakes if you can name 2 out of 4 of the artists from the titles alone.)Β  Sadly, the words were mostly lost to me. There was a lot of that muttering thing a person does when they are trying to get past the lyrics they don’t know and back to the chorus.

Racking my brain, I tried to think what songs I know in completion. Let’s see. The ABC’s. Twinkle, Twinkle. Wheels on the Bus.

What has happened to me? Has my brain, operating at full capacity, kicked out all lyrical knowledge of Roxette and Air Supply in order to make room for lullabies and nursery rhymes?

Fortunately, I was saved by Tainted Love. That’s one song that you don’t forget the lyrics.

11 responses to “Rock Me Amadeus

  1. Straight Up -Paula Abdul and Janie’s Got a Gun – Aerosmith. I’ll take my spatulacakes with extra syrup, please. πŸ˜‰

  2. Mickey – person who annoys me
    Take it on the Run – REO Speedwagon
    BUT can you run so far away?

  3. Paula Abdul, Aerosmith, Toni Basil, and the last one is the only one I had to google. Do I get a melty spatula award for that? πŸ˜€

  4. If it makes you feel any better, every time I sing anything Roxette I think of you.

  5. Well, here’s the thing… ANY song that I sing, my step-daughter says, ummm let me guess… 80’s song?

  6. I am proud to say that I know ALL the words to “Cheeseburger in Paradise”…. can I get a high-5 from all the parrot-heads?

Pipe Up

