Going Up, Going Down

I went to the mall over the weekend to buy some non-maternity, non-stop-sign type of clothes. Erma was game for a trip to the mall, because they have A) fountain and C) ookies.

Erma did not know about the E) scalators, but the fascination was instant.

We went up to intimate apparel where I bought some products and where Erma declared that she was "too hot," "starving," and "when can we have lunch, Mama?"

After lunch, we came back to the department store so I could browse the petite clothing.

“Can we go back on the escamalator?” Erma asked.

“No, no. We’re going now.”

“Oh Mommy, oh Mommy, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can we go back on the escamalator?”

By the second round trip, my arms were now full of Erma's jacket, my intimate apparel products, lunch leftovers, and petite clothing.

“Can we go back on the escamalator?” Erma asked.

“No, no. We’re going now.”

“Oh Mommy, oh Mommy, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can we go back on the escamalator?”

The next trip to the upper level, some sale bedding caught my eye. And you know, there is no bedding like sale bedding. Now I had a blanket and two bath towels in addition to the intimate apparel, the leftovers, the cookies, the petite clothing, and the jacket.

“I like your shoes,” said a chap going down.

“Thank you,” Erma said with a beaming smile.

We were barely stepping off the escalator, the gent still beside us. “Mommy? What was that man saying?”

“I think he liked your shoes,” I reminded her from one second ago.

“I wish I could go on the escamalator with that man again.”

“Well, he’s gone away to go shopping.”

“Oh Mommy, oh Mommy, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can we go back on the escamalator with that man?”

We are still on the escalator. Going up, going down, going up, going down. Never really going anywhere at all.

7 responses to “Going Up, Going Down

  1. One of Adam’s favourite mall past times is riding the escalator as well.

    • I feel like some people on the escalator think they are at the airport, and you are supposed to be climbing the stairs instead of just standing around. To them, though, I say: PFFFT.

  2. Oh man that is totally us at the mall or really anywhere with an escalator. We’ve been known to just loop around and around the same pair of escalators. Although at least in my case I wasn’t carrying an armload of stuff, eeks! Thankfully my little guy is now getting over escalators to the point where he gets excited about them still, but doesn’t require multiple trips.

  3. That’s us, too. Or in airports with the flatscelators… round and round we go. We had a 5 hour layover once. We did that for at least 2 of the 5 hours. Seriously.

  4. Pingback: Good Kids Misbehave « StephiCakes

Pipe Up

