Take What You Need

I am conducting a super secret social experiment with the bulletin board downstairs in our office building. Shh! Don’t tell anyone!

I stole the idea (as I do most ideas) from the internet, kicked it up a notch, and hung the sign and pull-tabs on the employee bulletin board. Then I checked on it. Obsessively. Which little notes would be pulled first?

No notes have been pulled.

Zero.

Zilch.

Zada.

Z.

Why isn’t anyone in my office building playing my mind games with me?

Perhaps everybody is full up on confidence, energy, and success.

Perhaps people are embarrassed to play these games, and find the whole concept silly and juvenile and otherwise abhorrent.

Or perhaps there has not been anything “fun” on the board (unless you count the sexual assault awareness poster) in so long that people have stopped looking there.

I’ll go check again just to make sure nobody has taken any gratitude or understanding.

. . .

Nope. Not yet.

23 responses to “Take What You Need

  1. Can I take do-over for my interview, energy for work, help and motivation for physics, and success for everything overall or am I limited to just one? ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I absolutely love this idea.
    Maybe add things like: A Bonus, A Vacation, A New Boss, A Nap, An Attitude Adjustment, A Foot Massage, A Time Out, A More Comfortable Chair….

  3. I’ll take confidence and efficiency please! I hope it made someone smile. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I love this idea! My guess is that people don’t look at that board. I know that’s the case in the building where I work – one board has all the employment stuff that never gets read. The other is more of a bulletin board. I’d find a new location before giving up!

  5. I’m thinking that if I saw that on the board at work, I would be amused by it, but as it’s obviously a spoof on the usual sheets like that, I wouldn’t be sure whether I was actually supposed to tear one off or not, so would probably err on the side of not! So people are probably appreciating it, but not realising that you’re actually waiting to see which ones go! Maybe if one person (you?) started the ball rolling by taking one, then others might follow.

  6. Maybe it just needs a day or two to simmer, and then people will be like “Oh what the heck” and take one?

  7. You can always go to the other extreme – “Take what you need!” and then make tabs for wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy and gluttony.

  8. I’m betting that someone will take one – probably lust.

  9. Great idea! I heard a good trick is to always pull out at least one so that people don’t feel like they’re the first one to take a strip of paper. Kind of like how you sort of need those first few people on the dance floor to get it going lol.

    • I think I need to start a rumor about the board down there, and try to get people guessing what wacky officemate would have done such a thing. That way someone might actually LOOK at the board and even see it’s there.

  10. I think this is the most clever idea I’ve seen in a long time! My suggestion was going to be the same as Sleeping Mom’s until I looked up and saw that she had just posted the same thing. I like great minds like mine!

Pipe Up

