Garden Surprise

The flowers are starting to bloom in our backyard. My favorites that have popped up so far are the daffodils. They look forlorn yet cheery. I think in my past life, I was a daffodil.

Everything that grows in our yard is a surprise this spring. We moved into our house last October. The previous owners took great care in their landscaping, but the property did not come with a map.

Here are some of the surprise blooms we have discovered so far.

Bleeding hearts.

Asparagus. Or, at least, asparagus WAS growing in our yard until this afternoon when Erma discovered that raw asparagus is a delicious snack. Perhaps we need to grow our own Brussels sprouts and pizza for similar results?

Flowering crab tree. Belongs to the neighbors, but I’ve ordered up one for our own yard (care of ye olde husband).

Rhubarb with its poisonous green tops.

Rhubarb deemed not quite ripe. Return to asparagus.

The flaming willow Ben planted this past week, soon to be joined by many other Arbor Day trees.

My forlorn and friendly daffodils.

35 responses to “Garden Surprise

  1. So asparagus is a perennial? I love all plant life that is perennial. I did not know there were vegetables that would sprout year after year without replanting. Fabulous!
    Some people you know say asparagus make your pee stinky. πŸ™‚

    • I did not know it was a perennial. But I guess it is. Or else somebody is sneaking into our yard at night and planting vegetables.

      • Asparagus and rhubarb are both perennial. And the rhubarb will never go away. EVER. I think you could set it on fire & it would come back 10 fold the next year. πŸ˜›

  2. Beautiful pictures! Spring is turning out so nicely in your part of the world. πŸ˜‰

  3. Your yard is full of treasures! I loved when we discovered the lilacs the spring after we moved in. πŸ™‚

  4. So nice! We found a rhubarb plant in our backyard too! πŸ˜€ Yay!
    On another note…could you please let me in on making awards? I wanna be popularrrrrrr.

  5. I’m so jealous! That’s awesome you guys have vegetables and flowers too. My fave is the bleeding hearts oneβ€”cool name and cool-lookin’!

Pipe Up

