Marathon Training on Mother’s Day Weekend

The most common phrase in our household during Mother’s Day Weekend is:

“I. Want. My. Da. Da.” — accompanied by sobs, screams, whines, pouts, or outright hysterics.

This is also the most common phrase in our household every other day of the year.

Nevertheless, it was Mother’s Day Weekend, because the calendar says so. I took my Dada-wanting kids and their precious Dada to the zoo and also for an expensive fast food lunch of Five Guys Burger and Fries.

The kids spent their zoo time scrounging for fallen pellets to feed birds and goats. Quarters to buy vending machine food? Not for this family.

Then I took a lot of boring pictures, all of which are seen here.

Marathon training this weekend has consisted of walking around the zoo and eating a lot of meat. I have eaten more meat in the past three days than in the rest of my life combined. I’m practically paleo! Burgers, meat loaf, a bagel topped with ground beef. Okay, the bagel was topped with garlic cream cheese, but at least I have garlic breath now.

For Mother’s Day, I asked Sigourney if I could have a hug. “No!” she yipped in her 19-month-old trill. “I want my Dada!”

So far Mother’s Day, I will simply enjoy my new texting phone and my bag of chocolate covered marshmallows in the peace and tranquility of children clinging to their Dada.

Happy Mother’s Day, Dada!

7 responses to “Marathon Training on Mother’s Day Weekend

  1. I’ve been there. When my husband used to travel A LOT for work, my then-two-year-old daughter would beg ME to leave instead. Every time. eventually she realized I’m a better cook and changed her tune.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day! I think you are a terrific mom. πŸ™‚

  3. Those kids look pretty happy with their mother to me.

    Happy Mother’s Day.

  4. Yepp. Always, always, always how it is. We’re heading over to my mother-in-law’s house soon, so I’ll get to enjoy a nice glass of wine while Gramma fusses over Kira. Peace! πŸ˜€
    Happy Mother’s Day sillyliss, I hope you truly enjoy the day, for everything that you do for your family as a mother. You deserve it!

  5. We did Lowry Park Zoo for Mother’s Day last year and had a blast!

    • I miss Lowry Park. It’s such a nice place to take kids, with lots of shady trees. I don’t think I appreciated it enough when we lived in Tampa. πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, your zoo has way more exotic animals than mine. Mine all have the correct heads. I thought my mother’s day was lousy cuz DH slept in and crabbed all day. But I admit I’d have been pissed if the kids spent all day asking for dad. Although, if Corbin did it, I’d just be impressed.

Pipe Up

