My Beautiful Baby Pine Tree

I’m a winner!

Not of a marathon or a prize fight or an exemplary employee recognition, but something equally great:

A homemade puzzle frame which will eventually feature a picture of my kiddos putting together a jigsaw, and a surprise bonus of a cartoon version of me!

I won fellow blogger Coffee Powered Mom’s crafty giveaway! Check out her blog: I think today it was powered by about seventeen cups of coffee and a babysitting dilemma. (Wait, no, it is me who was powered by about seventeen cups of coffee. My bad.)

The last time I won a contest was in 1986. I was eight years old (don’t do the math), and I wrote a poem about a tree. I was called to the principal’s office and was awarded a sapling. I brought it home and showed my mother my beautiful new baby pine tree, which she eyed with disgust before dumping it in a garbage can. (Our yard was full of pine trees, and my blind mother was constantly battling with those cones.)

So the tree went to the dump, but my parents bought me a replacement tree: a tree of my choice. I picked an orange tree and I named her Valerie. I don’t remember eating a single one of Valerie’s oranges. But I was proud that she was mine, and that I won her.

The poem doesn’t exist anymore, but I think it went something like this:

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a pine tree

Maybe not. My eight-year-old poetry was probably much, much worse.

It was also the only time I was ever called to the principal’s office for any good reason.

Thank you to Coffee Powered Mom for making me feel like a winner again!

8 responses to “My Beautiful Baby Pine Tree

  1. Congratulations πŸ™‚

  2. Thank YOU for participating, and being so awesome, and waiting patiently for me to get to the post office. πŸ˜€
    PS. I have nominated you for a Liebster Award! http://coffeepoweredmom.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/that-glint-of-light-thats-my-smile/

  3. I remember this contest. Lucky winner!

  4. Besides the mess of the pine cones, those trees oozed pine oil and covered the roof of the house, the trees bent and swayed with every breeze, and they were tall, skinny, ugly things. I stand firm: no more pine trees!

    Valerie didn’t make it through her second year and was replaced with an extremely prolific grapefruit tree. We enjoyed delicious fresh grapefruit daily for 5 months out of the year PLUS gallons upon gallons of fresh squeezed grapefruit juice.

  5. Congratulations on your win!! And I’d say you were definitely due for another! (Don’t worry I didn’t do the math because I couldn’t figure it out! HA!)

Pipe Up

