Our Second Home

Any parent worth his wipes knows, first, the value of diaper wipes, and second, this known and universal all-childs-are-one-child fact:

The packaging is always better than the present.

Unless the present is a Pound Puppy or a Barbie Dream House. Or a petite cameo ring studded with sapphires. Or maybe I’ve lost my prepubescent love of packaging.

If a package is received at our house, the innards (as I like to call the actual package contents) are immediately discarded for any and/or all of the following:

  • Packing peanuts
  • Bubble wrap
  • Junk mail
  • Crumpled up newspapers
  • Instruction manuals
  • Labels
  • Bits of torn off packaging tape
  • The box

Seeing as how we receive a lot of boxes at our house (*shifty eyes*), I thought, what better to buy for my children something that comes to our home for free* every couple of weeks**?

* Package is free; contents are extra.

** I might have a problem.

And thus appeared before us: The Boxhouse.

It’s a large piece of cardboard with drawings on it. Cost me fifty bucks.

The kids love it. They want to LIVE in it. I would totally let them, too, but I’m waiting for the installation of the indoor plumbing.

Of course, it’s been two days and they have nearly destroyed The Boxhouse. Once Tropical Storm Sigourney arrived on the scene, there just wasn’t much hope for a structure without a foundation.

Sigourney arrives on the Boxscene.

My favorite part of The Boxhouse is how it arrived. It came “unassembled” inside a box.

Inside a box.

Now THAT is an example of irony.

 

10 responses to “Our Second Home

  1. I suggest you use the box to stabilize the box.

    • So should I cancel the contractor we called to install the foundation? I was thinking a finished basement could go down there. Of course, then we would have to worry about mold and seepage every spring. These are tough decisions.

  2. What a great play-house! My grandkids would love something like that. I tried making a house for them out of an old cardboard box but it didn’t work too well.

    • Did you use the duct tape? You have to use the duct tape. With the proper application of copious amounts of duct tape, any flimsy knockabout creation can become almost* indestructible.

      *Unless you have a Sigourney in your house. Then all bets are off.

  3. Well, the company are on to a nice little earner there at fifty bucks at time! I had a plastic one set up in my room for years when I was little and often used to sleep in there because it was more exciting than my bed, and I could hide snacks in there that I had stolen from the kitchen.

  4. I had a house like that when I was little. My first house was full of memories. πŸ™‚

  5. Love your pictures πŸ™‚

  6. workingmommawithababy

    Does it come in a mommy version? Like “color me day spa”? or “color me nap time”?

  7. Oh, memories! My siblings and I had a box house when we were little. It was a little less fancy, because it wasn’t originally intended to be a box house; I think it was originally a box with a refrigerator inside it. It was pretty awesome.

  8. Pingback: Travel Theme: Flowers « Incidentally

Pipe Up

