Caught Up in the Kitchen with Kohlrabi

Last weekend, I purchased $1 worth of kohlrabi from our local farmer’s market. Kohlrabi is all the rage at CSAs and farmer’s markets across America. Every time I turn around, somebody is saying the word “kohlrabi.” The entire population of North Dakota cannot be wrong. I must try this exotic Asian vegetable.

It turns out that kohlrabi is neither exotic nor Asian. (Can something be exotic and, say, Midwestern?) It’s German, and it’s like brussel sprouts. Or it’s like cabbage. It’s got a punch like an onion. It’s textured like a turnip. Nobody can quite agree what kohlrabi is like and have settled on this: kohlrabi is like kohlrabi. (This is one of the universe’s profundities.)

We tried our one-dollar (is this a good price? was I ripped off? did I score a great deal?) kohlrabi on Sunday.

The verdict:

Meh. It tasted like kohlrabi. But man, oh man, it SMELLED like kohlrabi. The whole house smelled like kohlrabi. (I have also discovered that kohlrabi odor is NOT my aromatherapy solution.)

Erma, who won’t eat blueberries or carrots or pizza, snacked on kohlrabi all evening and into the night. She loves kohlrabi.

Cinnamon Dog, who will eat rotten eggs, popsicle sticks, and cantaloupe rinds, deemed the kohlrabi inedible.

So what do YOU do with YOUR kohlrabi?

13 responses to “Caught Up in the Kitchen with Kohlrabi

  1. I have not heard Kohlrabi spoken aloud once – not in my home, not in the grocery store, not on TV news – nowhere, never! I did not even know kohlrabi is a vegetable! Now you have got me curious. I will have to check our supermarket to see if it is even available here. We are not THAT fat from North Dakota after all! Hmm.

  2. I can’t remember if I like Kohlrabi or not. But anyway, here are some recipes that look interesting:

    http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/kohlrabi/

  3. Never tried it, and now I’m not sure if I want to!

  4. I’ve only had it when it ended up in my CSA share. I peel, dice and boil it, then serve it with butter, salt and pepper. That is as creative as I’ve ever gotten with kohlrabi.

  5. It must be good if Erma likes it!

  6. The only way I like kohlrabi is in chip form. Slice it thinly (if you have a mandolin slicer, use it – no need to peel), cover it in olive oil (spray stuff would work really well), bake at 250 f for until deep gold in color (they look like potato chips), sprinkle with salt and eat. It can take an hour to cook, but I liked it. I tried it roasted once, and grated with sour cream another time. I didn’t like either of those.

  7. I was hoping for Kohlrabi when I did my CSA last year, but never got any! Looks yummy & I think you got a good deal.

  8. The only time I’ve ever heard of this was in the classic flick: Indiana Jones and the Tomb of Kohlrabi.

  9. I have never heard of Kohlrabi before.

    And, well, I think I will proceed to forget about it now.

  10. That’s totally interesting. I’ve heard of it, but never seen it in the flesh. I highly doubt my picky eaters would go for it, but I’m always open to trying new things.

  11. That’s hilarious! I’ve never heard of it, but I think it’s great fun when the kids will eat something silly that I won’t…and love it!

  12. I love Kohlrabi!! Just sprinkle a little salt on it, and YUM!!

  13. We bought one at our farmer’s market last year. It’s on Food Network all the time as a surprise ingredient. It sat in our refrigerator until it went bad. 🙂 I will have to try to actually cook some this year!

Pipe Up

