The White Whale

The dingy fluorescent lighting in the bathroom at work really highlights the occasional silver in my hair. Once a strand catches the light, I have to hunt it down (a la Shark Week) until I have finally removed it. Usually, there is a new bald spot where I have been pulling hairs in search of the white whale.

The silver hair is only half as embarrassing as how dirty I now notice the bathroom mirror is.

But this one time, this ONE time, I just could not yank that glowing ember of former brown.

I brought my problem home to Flathead. “Can you please pull out my silver hair?” I asked him.

He replied, “All of them?!?!”

That was a real punch in the self esteem.

I thought there was only that one.

3 responses to “The White Whale

  1. I asked your father to tweeze the white eyebrow hairs. His response: “But then you’ll be bald! You’ll have no eyebrows at all!”

    That was a couple of years ago. I think I still have some good brown eyebrow hairs even now. A few maybe?

  2. So Funny! Last time at the beauty salon, Kaitlyn’s stylist braided in two pieces of shiny purple ‘hair’ to her utmost delight. Later, she asked me if that’s where I got my shiny hairs, too. Sigh…

  3. I’m planning on keeping it. I hope I go silver or white instead of a mute grey, but we’ll have to see what life has in store for me!

Pipe Up

