Nebulized

At our pediatrician’s office this morning, our doctor diagnosed Sigourney with restricted airways disease. This will be confirmed (or not) when we finally get in to see the fancy breathing doctor in December.

After more than a year of listening to her cough get better, get worse, get worse, get worse, get a little better, “a lot of coughing today,” “cough seems worse,” up for hours in the middle of the night hacking, bronchitis, pneumonia, “mommy, cough hurts,” *cries*, week break from cough, cough get better, get worse, get worse, get worse…well, today was the day the doctor said:

Enough is enough!

And:

You get to learn how to use a nebulizer.

Sometimes I say weird things…out loud…to a medical professional.

I did not know that inhalers were not readily available for two-year-olds. I pictured toddlers running around with those little breath sticks in their pockets, pumping themselves up like it was Binaca. Now that I think about it, maybe there is a reason that two-year-olds don’t get the asthma snorters.

This nebulizer is quite a thing. It’s like a little project for each night. Instead of running around like a tiny little maniac per usual for the after-dinner hour, we get to:

  • Do some mysterious things to get the drugs into the cuppy thing.
  • Plug a loud, vacuum-sounding thing into the wall.
  • Put a mustard gas mask on a toddler.
  • Try to entertain her for a dose of each of her meds.
  • Breathe in her meds with her. I feel better already!

Tonight was fairly successful. But I do wonder how long before the novelty of “Look, Sis-tah! Mask! Look, Sis-tah! Med-sin! MY med-sin!” wears off and we have to resort to, well, the doggy nebulizer.

28 responses to “Nebulized

  1. They didn’t give you one she can hold in her hands? I was told in lab one day that that’s what they typically give kids so they don’t get scared/claustrophobic from the mask being on their face.

    • There is a mouth piece one. Our doctor seemed to think the mask would be the better option. We will try the mouth piece tomorrow. Then it will look like she is going snorkeling.

      Our mask has holes in it. You think we got a broken one?

  2. Well the mask would force it to be on her face and force her to breath it in for sure, but it might make the whole process more of a struggle if she feels forced you know? Considering the pediactric nebulizer in our lab has holes, I’m pretty sure you’re good πŸ˜›

  3. The doggy nebulizer makes nebulizing fun. πŸ™‚

    I hope this provides relief for a sweet little girl and a good night’s sleep for all.

  4. My youngest also had a nebulizer around the same age for asthma. Memories flooding back now – trying to make it a game, trying to get him to sit still, bribery, clapping, toddler tantrums, wine (oh, that was for me – not for him – after he was sleeping soundly at night). Sigh. I’m sorry. But it helped my little guy a lot and I hope the same for your little gal. She is such a cutie. My oldest also had a nebulizer for pneumonia when he was around seven. Ah, yes, fun times. I wish you all the best and love the cartoon. Good to keep a sense of humor!!!

  5. Awww – hope it makes her feel sooooo much better. And it’s nice to have a choice between mask and mouth piece and maybe let her make that decision. Two year olds love to make decisions….lol

  6. Awww.. what a roller coaster she and you have been through over the past year! Really hope this treatment helps!

  7. I hope she’s feeling much better soon.

  8. Wow, that is pretty scary for you! Fortunately, she probably won’t remember any of this in the long run. Hugs to you & Sigourney!

    • It’s not really so scary to me, aside from the fact that she looks like she’s about to head into a nuclear explosion zone or something. I’ll be thrilled if we can find something that will help her!

  9. Aww, poor thing! Her little face, she looks a bit cross! So this is something different than asthma then?

    • I think she was cross at the picture. She was super good when we did the nebulizing, almost proud. She kept telling Sis-tah about her special med-sin. And then there was singing. With the mask on. And the steam coming out of her head.

      It’s the same thing as asthma, but they renamed it to be more confusing.

  10. If she only has to take the nebulizer once daily, you can slip the mask on her AFTER she is asleep. A lot of parents sneak and do that one! Also, the question about thrush is a YES. Lots of kids will get it. A little nystatin swish and swallow (prescription, but they should just call it in for you, it’s a pretty common side effect) should calm it right down!

    • Thanks for the tip, Clyde. She’s a terrible sleeper, so I am not sure if throwing the mask on after she’s asleep will work with her, but it’s an idea to try.

      The pharmacy told us to have her rinse her mouth out with water after nebulizing. I don’t know how realistic it is to expect her to swish and spit. She’s two. Hmm.

  11. Poor little thing. I hope the nebulizer helps.
    I had severe asthma as a child and my mother would do anything to get me to take my meds (bitter pills mostly, that I couldn’t – or wouldn’t – swallow). I recall being bribed with cheap toys and on one occasion my pediatrician reading me poetry! πŸ™‚

  12. Did you cry when the doctor told you? I tend to cry about silly things relating to my kids’ health.

    • I was relieved. We’ve been watching her cough and cry for over a year, and finally the doctor gave us something to try. And it’s working. But it’s a nightmare getting her to do the whole treatment every night.

      • :S Well, I’m glad that you felt relief. My kids love taking medicine (orally) probably due to the taste, and the only time Ally’s had a chest infection and need puffers she was old enough to understand them. I can’t imagine trying to get a little one to use a machine like that, I feel bad for you and I hope it gets better over time.

  13. Just found out that my grandfather (age 86) is using one of these, too. Good for all ages!!

Pipe Up

