You Should Never Argue with a Crazy Mind

Things I Hope to Never Do Again:

  • Oral surgery
  • Spend eight hours in a snowstorm at the Philadelphia airport
  • Take a child to the emergency room
  • Accidentally eat tofu
  • Fall face-first into a lake
  • Shop at a used car dealership
  • Melt kitchen utensils into my pancakes
  • Go willingly into a mosh pit
  • Forget my graphing calculator for the final exam in college math
  • Grow my own mold
  • Child birth (the birth part isn’t so bad, but the following two years of sleep torture is
  • Buy and sell a house on the same day

Buying and selling a house on the same day: I am not a fan. Or, in other words, one of the top worst experiences of my life thus far, and that life includes spraying hand sanitizer directly into my eyeballs.

There are no pictures to show you the stress of buying and selling a house on the same day because:

  1. The camera cord is in one of the unmarked boxes that was thrown together at the last minute (and by last minute, I mean LAST minute — in the midnight hours, when all hope of packing and moving was lost; like a college student who knew all semester long he had to move out of his dorm but waited for his mother to appear before he decided that the maelstrom that had hit his room would require more than an hour of work to undo).
  2. We have no internet at home, which makes one wonder how I’m even typing and/or posting this. (Doesn’t one?)

So, since there are no pictures, I leave you with a picture in words:

A pink and purple sky, rising over fields that go on forever (or at least until the Dilworth wind turbines), a brilliant rainbow in the sky, and the serenity of country life. That is our new home.

23 responses to “You Should Never Argue with a Crazy Mind

  1. You don’t want to ever accidentally eat tofu again, but what about deliberately eat tofu?

    • The chance of deliberately eating tofu are slim to none, but you are right, it should be on the list. It’s worse to accidentally eat it, though, because sometimes tofu can be tricky and look like chicken, then POW tofu!

  2. Wahoo for you!!! I appreciate living in a rural area and am blessed to have both worlds. We live along the edge of Gaylord on a lot bordered by a city road to the east and a country road to the south. So, we are blessed with city sewer, city and county snow removals (or pile ups in my driveway); plus we have a corn field on the other side of the country road. Pretty much the best of both worlds. Enjoy the wide open spaces and email me your new address so I can keep you updated of our annual letter. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • We were living in the outskirts of Moorhead, and I loved it! But Z would rather burn his own trash, and who am I to take that away from him? : ) Which email are you using now? Just give me a hint…

      • LOL, I think I have at least 5 active email accounts. Try gmail….do you have that one? spiceycatchick, that’s me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ugh, I hate moving!!! We did the great sell/buy on the same day this year, too. Then, moved 2 houses into one. So, please believe me when I tell you… I FEEL YOUR PAIN!!!
    Hope the new house is awesome and you get all the country you long for!

    • Two houses into one sounds pretty exciting. Apparently we had like five houses worth of stuff in one house. I don’t know how that happened. But don’t worry — immediately upon receiving the keys to the new house, I hopped onto Amazon to order more stuff, then a quick, $300 trip to Target for all the other new stuff we suddenly needed!

  4. hey! if you do ever get stranded in Philly, that’s where I am now so drop me a line! And we are moving in two weeks, but the upside is that is my first time buying a house, so at least we are not also selling a house. I feel your pain, but the new house part is so exciting! Enjoy the adventure (and the unpacking)! I love unpacking, but of course, that’s because I get to simultaneously clean and organize, which you know I love!

    • Oooh, I have heard so many great things about Philly! That’s awesome that you are living there. Are you moving to another place in Philadelphia, or somewhere else altogether? Congrats on the new house!! You have so many exciting things going on lately! Love to hear from you, Jamie! Is Sadie still around? I loved your dog. : )

  5. I’m so glad you’ve got the hardests part of the move behind you!

    Then again, there are all those boxes. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    P.S. How are you reading this without Internet service? Hmmm. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • We’re getting phone service set up today, but we threw away our phone (it wasn’t working right) and forgot to buy a new one. Which makes a person wonder if we need the service! We could just use a bananaphone…

  6. Yikes that does not sound fun! Would you like to come here and put your newfound packing in a day skills to good use when I have to move in December?

  7. Wow! Congrats on the move!! I too prefer the country (though our lot is less than an acre, there are 130 acres of woods across the road/in front of us, and too many soy and corn fields behind us (too many because they’re the stink bugs’ favorite snack). Best of luck getting settled in, and shopping!

Pipe Up

