When Machines Rule the Earth

I just cheated on my pharmacist.

After a week of war against what I deemed to be yet-another-head-cold, I finally caved (i.e., panicked myself into a frenzy — I do that, in case it wasn’t already known. I have a thing. I have a lot of things…) and went to the doctor tonight.

The Sanford Walk-in Clinic’s website said the wait time was 45 minutes. I grabbed a book on my way out the door.

Then I passed an urgent care place in a strip mall. There were no cars in the parking light and a neon sign in the window spelled out, “OPEN.” I went in to a dimly lit little reception area where they accepted my insurance and the nurse waited for me to take my coat off because she was ready before I was.

After Andy checked out my ears, sinuses, throat, and lungs, he diagnosed me with bronchitis and a sinus infection. He asked me if I wanted a prescription called in to a pharmacy or if I wanted to use a machine in the hallway.

A machine in the hallway.

I love my pharmacist. She knows my prescriptions, my history, my anxiety, and practically has my home phone number from two houses ago memorized because I lost my CVS card ages ago (and anyway, I have no idea how to cash in on that thing).

But a machine in the hallway.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m sick, I’d rather not stop at a hundred different places plus the wait around time while the scrip is filled.

I used the machine in the hallway.

Every time a patient uses the machine in the hallway, somewhere in the world a pharmacist loses his or her wings.

Sorry, my pharmacist friends. I promise not to abandon you entirely. But the machine in the hallway was pretty awesome. And it was located not ten feet from another fine machine — the Keurig.

The drugs just fall right out of this thing. With my name on them!

The drugs just fall right out of this thing. With my name on them!

12 responses to “When Machines Rule the Earth

  1. I have never seen a drugs machine before. Funny how you have to go out to no-man’s-lane for the latest and greatest! πŸ™‚

  2. OK, two things.
    1. Tennessee must be in the dark ages. We do not have machines such as this in our hallways. I want them. Now! I’m so jealous!
    2. When the email came saying you’d posted a new post, the one above it said something about bread. So, my little pea brained combined the posts and I read, “When bread machines take over the world.” I wondered if there were really that many bread machines and why they were so anti-human. Yeah, about to get me some reading glasses. Soon.

  3. Next year, flu shots. πŸ™‚

    Hope you feel better.

  4. Oh no! Say it isn’t so! My daughter’s just starting her last year at pharmacy school. Replaced by machines before she even begins!

  5. Oh wow! I want this. Although I, too, love my pharmacist (for all the same reason), I’m now filling almost all my prescriptions through mail order at the request/insistence/threat of my insurance.

Pipe Up

