The Light Up Backpack

Dumples started preschool last week. It’s only two hours, two days a week. Basically, there’s time for a song, an art project, and a snack. She needs her own backpack now, and she picked out the only one in the whole store that lights up when you shake it.  She uses it to bring her art projects home and, I presume, to engage new friends.

After the first day of preschool, I asked Dumples if she had made any new friends. “Yep!” she said, beaming.

“Tell me their names,” I coaxed her.

She thought for a moment, then eureka’d, “Silas!” She added, “Silas is my best fwiend.”

“Oh yeah? Did you play with Silas today?”

“No.”

“Did you talk to Silas today?”

“No.”

“But he’s your best friend?”

“Yep.”

I’m pretty sure this best friendship is all about the light up backup. I can’t see how it could be based on anything else. If Silas even knows who Dumples is.

6 responses to “The Light Up Backpack

  1. He probably came over to the backpack and pointed to or touched it and smied. I love non-verbal communication–so much can be ‘said & ‘heard’. Especially in preschool. Go Dumples!

  2. Twevah has been replaced. 😦

  3. My kids can never remember the names of their friends. My daughter called her friend Ostrich for the longest time. Turns out her name is Astrid. Love it. Love kids.

Pipe Up

